Is it even possible???

Is it even possible to admire someone’s talent and skills without getting stupid about it?

Every once in a great while I look to see what people are saying about celebrities. Not because I truly care – more because I can’t believe some do. And then I see posts like the following…

“I know you don’t know me but I LOVE YOU !!”
“I love your eyes!!”
“I know I’m too young for you but I would love to date you!!””

I realize most of these comments are from younger females but not all of them are. Some are full grown adults who don’t just appreciate someone’s talent but even go beyond idolizing a person. It’s just not healthy.

I have never, nor could I ever see myself, worshipping anyone. Respect and appreciate yes. Worship? Oh hell no. And those I appreciate and respect have earned it for more than their celebrity status. People like Pope John Paul II, the Dalai Lama, Pope Francis, Princess Diana, and all those who walked the walk and talked the talk. As you can see, my list of people I admire isn’t a list with people who have “celebrity status” because of what they haven’t done (think Paris Hilton, Lindsey Lohan, Kim K, most athletes – okay most people in the spotlight and given the title “celebrity”).

Which is why all the celebrity idolization I see dismays me. We, collectively, worship the obscenely wealthy and obsurd. The more someone acts out, screws up, behaves badly, the more we tune in, read about, comment on, judge. Stories of the common person doing wonderful things gets pushed back to a page or link that almost impossible to find, but let Princess Kate come out in a new pair of shoes and it becomes top news.

Why do we care? Why do we obsess? Why do we hang on every word of people we probably wouldn’t even like if we knew them in person but because they are so-n-so celebrity we take their word as gospel?

And on what planet is it okay to spout out “I love you” in the creepy, fanatical, stalkerish way that most “need to get their own life” fans do? I can tell you, it’s not flattering. It’s creepy and scary and you just don’t know what to say to that. Thank you? For what? Creeping me the hell out? “I love you too”? Oh hell no. Now I’m not a celebrity by any standards but I do have some fans. And luckily I have fans who are friends too. But I have had the weird occasion of being somewhere and someone randomly asking for my autograph even though they didn’t have my book with them. So, as they were digging out a scrap of paper and pen they started saying how much they “loved what I do…” – which I later found out they had no idea who I was but they overheard a friend of mine and I talking about my book and “had to get!!!” my autograph “just in case” I was someone important.

To which I can only say “Wow…………….”. I didn’t even take it personally. I just shook my head in dismay that someone actually had to have my autograph “just in case” I turned out to be someone important. Is saying you met so-n-so really that big of deal that you would get someone’s autograph “just in case” based on a conversation you overheard?

Ok, I’m now ranting more than blogging I do believe. So I’ll just stop here. But I will never understand the driving force that causes people to forget that no matter what a person does for a job they are just another person. And should be treated with the respect due other people. They are not objects to be possessed, it is not flattering to hear how much you love them, it is creepy to have you follow them around, and they just want to live their lives too.

About ynnarie

Lynn Salisbury grew up in the rural town of McGrath, Minnesota. After graduating from McGregor High School in the mid 1980’s, she moved to the Twin Cities. Lynn spent her 20’s and 30’s working like the average person, never imagining the calling that awaited her. But those two decades of working, learning, growing, led to the day a friend challenged Lynn to write. Lynn met that challenge and never looked back. Now she draws from her life’s experiences and creative mind to weave stories. Stories about different worlds, different lives, different perspectives. If you ask her about her life, Lynn will tell you it’s been rather simple and sometimes boring. But if you dig a little deeper you will find that it’s been a bit more exciting than that. Lynn has done everything from designing clothes ranging from prom and wedding dresses to drag queen attire and everything in-between, became a registered, ordained Pagan minister in the state of Minnesota, to creating a group, on a social media site, of fans devoted to her favorite football team that has more members than most medium sized towns. Lynn still lives in the Twin Cities area, enjoying the changing seasons, spending time with family, working, and writing. She will admit she hasn’t found her genre niche yet, and she secretly hopes she never does, leaving the possibilities wide open for any type of story that formulates in her head, mixed with a bit of muse inspiration, to spill out into the written word. She writes what she would want to read, having taken to heart a piece of advice she once heard. And she feels blessed and grateful for the chance to share her stories with the world. As the mother of three amazing, beautiful and strong daughters, Lynn knows that even when the world seems the darkest, they are her light. And she never forgets what an honor and privilege it is to be their mother. “If you haven’t had your ‘a-ha’ moment today, you haven’t been paying attention.” – Lynn Salisbury
This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

